Yes…that is royally fucked up

A viral video has reminded me and awakened my strong feminist self and you may have already seen this video but if you haven’t, you’ll realize that this parody is very true.

“What’s the worst possible thing you can call a woman? Don’t hold back, now.

You’re probably thinking of words like slut, whore, bitch, cunt (I told you not to hold back!), skank.
Okay, now, what are the worst things you can call a guy? Fag, girl, bitch, pussy. I’ve even heard the term “mangina.”
Notice anything? The worst thing you can call a girl is a girl. The worst thing you can call a guy is a girl. Being a woman is the ultimate insult. Now tell me that’s not royally fucked up.”
― Jessica Valenti, Full Frontal Feminism

Yeah, I guess that sums up the title. I mean, there are countless of people that write about feminism so honestly whats the difference with another. However, honestly the sad truth is countless of girls and women are affected because feminism still fails to get through some people’s heads.I mean its no secret that one of those people were my father and like the excerpt above, just being a female in his family was bad by default. I mean when my sister was born, his own SISTERS cried about the birth of a girl and not a son for him. Ironic isn’t it? The females in his family crying about the existence of another female in their family. Thankfully, my father moving here separated my parents from his family member conservative mentality. However, while I was growing up it still didn’t fail on having an impact on me, 1,000 miles across land and water.

I was around ten when I got my first marriage proposal. (well, it was the first I heard about) I cried for hours when I heard the news. I would like to think my parents had no intention with going through with it but my father never liked disappointing his family, and the marriage proposal was between me and one of my cousins from his family, so one of the children of his brother.

I made sure that my hours of wailing made it more than clear I would rather jump of a cliff than ever let that happen. Why? Well, first incest. Second, I’m too young for god sake and third my parents marriage were as horrible as it could get so yeah, I was not interested in marriage. I would rather have been nun when I was ten, that was how serious I was.

It didn’t fail to traumatize me as I was constantly reminded that if I didn’t keep up with my good studies than I could be shipped out of the country any day and forced to get married. Now, my mom tells me it was her way of motivating me. I think, it was just damn too cruel and yes, royally fucked up as Jessica Valenti puts it.

I mean to think that in the past and even in the present certain people kill a baby if its not a boy but a girl never fails to astound me. I’ve read true stories of babies being flushed down the toilet. Once again the irony doesn’t fail to surprise me that its really a male’s sperm that determines his child’s gender so to hear uneducated people blame their wives for their own sperms mistake…you can only guess how that would make me feel or should make you feel.

Once again, to clarify I’m not picking up a gun and saying I hate all men and they should all just die. I’m just saying that one day I can only hope that females just get the respect deserve and true equality throughout the world; like women receiving lower salaries for the same job eventually is put to a stop.

I was always a daddy’s girl and he asks me why I’m so bitter towards him now. I told him bluntly that he made me face and go through something he had no right to make me go through as a human being. What’s even worse is I’m your daughter, I told him and my mother is your wife. Whatever you may think, we all know you need us. So if you can’t appreciate us, at least give us the respect we deserve because if not…then dad you can’t expect me to respect you. If you actually do expect that then yeah…that is royally fucked up…but hey I still love you!

Excuse me for the language throughout this but I’ve learned that sometimes you have to be blunt, harsh, and true to get a point across to your audience. Or otherwise there will be girls who won’t be lucky as me and get shipped off to a tragically, suppressed future that I wouldn’t want for anyone.

7 comments

  1. I think I just realised I’m a feminist. Anyways, I love your writing! I love the flow and how you’re immersed in them. I’ve been on your blog from the latest post until this one. Not because I’m getting tired of it but my phone battery is at 5%. Keep up the good work! Glad you found your passion in writing.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

